International Programs   >

Foreign Languages

Languages available at VT

Arabic
Program director:  Dr. Nadine Sinno, nadine7@vt.edu
Minor in Arabic
Study abroad: program in Oman (director, Dr. Ragheda Nasssereddine, ragheda5@vt.edu)

Chinese
Advisor:  Dr. Jacqueline Bixler, jbixler@vt.edu
Minor in Chinese Studies
Study abroad:  available through the Chinese Language Institute in Guilin, China

French
Program director:  Dr. Corinne Noirot, cnoirot@vt.edu
Major and minor as well as minor in Business French and MA available
Study abroad:  Paris (director, Dr. Corinne Noirot, cnoirot@vt.edu)
Senegal (director, Dr. Medoune Gueye, mgueye@vt.edu )

German
Program director:  Dr. Esther Bauer, bauere@vt.edu
Major and minor available
Intensive Courses:  GER 1114, 6 cr. offered in Spring (covers GER 1105 and 1106 in one semester);
GER 2114, 6 cr. offered in the summer.
Study abroad:  Berlin (director, Dr. Mike Layne, jmlayne@vt.edu)
Darmstadt (contact Dr. Stoudt, dstoudt@vt.edu)

Italian
Program Director: Dr. Melissa Coburn, mcoburn8@vt.edu
Minor in Italian
Study abroad:  Bologna (director, Dr. Melissa Coburn, mcoburn8@vt.edu)

Japanese
Advisor:  Dr. Jacqueline Bixler, jbixler@vt.edu
Minor in Japanese Studies
Study abroad:  Kyoto (director, Yasuko Kumazawa, kumazawa@vt.edu )

Latin
Program director:  Dr. Andrew Becker, abecker@vt.edu
Minor in Latin
Recommended for pre-law and pre-med students
Study abroad: Rome (director, Dr. Andrew Becker, abecker@vt.edu)

Russian
Program director:  Dr. Nyusya Milman-Miller, nmilman@vt.edu
Major and minor available.
Intensive Courses:  RUS 1114 6 cr. (covers RUS 1105 and 1106 in one semester); RUS 2114, 6 cr. (covers RUS 2105 and 2106)
Study abroad:  Latvia (director:  Dr. Robert Efird, refird@vt.edu)

Spanish
Program director:  Dr. Aarnes Gudmestad, agudmest@vt.edu
Major and minor as well as MA available.
Intensive Course:  SPAN 1114, 4 cr. Offered in Spring (covers 1105 and 1106)
Study abroad:
Oviedo, Spain: Dr. Sarah Sierra, ssierra2@vt.edu
Madrid, Spain: Nancy López-Romero, paloma@vt.edu
Camino de Santiago, Spain:  Dr. Annie Hesp, ahesp@vt.edu
Quito, Ecuador:  Dr. Catalina Andrango-Walker, candrang@vt.edu